Once upon a Time…

Everyday Life Experiences and Thoughts online and offline…

Formating posts on WordPress is a pain..

with one comment

Today I spent all day formatting A Christmas Carol or how you do not with to spend Christmas...
First I had issues since it wouldn’t accept double paragraphs or breaks (unless you use the pre tag), then when I tried to insert pictures using the media library, I had to find out the hard way that it’s not possible to add pictures in different spots of the post, but only at one spot and all at once.

I kept messing with the media library, trying to find a way to add pictures in different locations in the post, thought I had finally found a way after a while, just to find out that it’s not working at all.
No matter if I uploaded the pictures into the library first and then tried adding them, or if I uploaded them directly from inside the post: it didn’t matter.

Each time it either just adds one of the pictures I upload, so I have to go to the library and add the other picture, which then in return results in all of the pictures being displayed at once. The library seems so pointless, except for you want all pictures at one spot in your blog, which might be good for a pure picture blog, but for a normal text based one with a picture here and there in between paragraphs it’s pretty useless.

Also, if I wanted to refer to a picture again in a different blog, I would have to upload the picture again, since there doesn’t seem to be a way to link more than one blog entry to it. I also haven’t found out yet how to unattach pictures, which also cost me lots of time, since I had to delete and re-upload the files while trying to make it work the way I wanted it to, until I finally gave up doing it the cheap way and went back to pure HTML. (Which also seems to be a hassle since there are a bunch of commands, the system doesn’t recognize or simply ignores, but luckily someone was able to help me out with an alternative. :) )

So what’s let to say is: Bad bad image Gallery!!
(I know I know, don’t blame the program, blame the stupid user =_= )

 

© 2010, Sanshiru. http://san.icopyright.com

Written by Samantha A. P. Ocean

December 27, 2009 at 2:28 pm

Posted in Random

Tagged with , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I had the same problems – WordPress has to be dragged screaming into the 21st century and still fouls up anything more ambitious than plain text (as it likes it) or a picture gallery. Not versed in html so I put up with a lot of defects. How do you stop double spacing after a paragraph? How do you position illustrations? How do you keep your sanity?

    editionhirmann

    December 10, 2010 at 10:30 am


Leave a Reply

