Once upon a Time…

Everyday Life Experiences and Thoughts online and offline…

Twitter and it’s Point(lessness)

with 2 comments


Today I checked my twitter to see if my hubby left some silly comment again and noticed that one of the 3 people, who started following me without even ever saying a word to me, had stopped following. I wasn’t really surprised and neither was I mad or sad about it. That person just didn’t interest me from what he had posted on his twitter and so I never started following him.
Now though, a question occurs to me: Why do people just randomly follow others without even having anything to say to them or to twitter in general?

I saw lots of people with only 20-70 twitter posts, but more than 5000 followers and the same amount of people they follow. Has it become some sort of sports, to see how many idiots you can find who follow you without even being interested in what you have to say, if you have to say anything at all? Is that the only purpose of twitter to them? To me, when I made my twitter account it was for fun, to goof around with my husband, and I was thinking of starting a blog and keeping people up to date about it or exchanging quick messages when there is no time for long emails or calls. Am I so wrong about the usage of it?
And what about this idiotic behaviour that people add you to their follow list, never even once send a message or show that anything you said was of interest to them, and when you don’t follow them within 3 days, they delete you again (which really shows how interested they were in your tweets)? What is the point of being spammed by tweets of thousands of other users without finding any interest in them? Is that a new way of (un)intelligent bragging about something no one cares about: ‘I got the most!!! I am important!!!’ ?
Even though not a single one of them gives a damn about you or what you have to say.. and I doubt those people have anything to say to begin with..

It’s sad to see how people waste their time with idiocy like that, when they could do something creative, productive or simply hang out with friends and have fun. Sometimes, seeing so many people like the ones I talked about, I wonder if the IQ in the past years has dropped. Finding new interesting people to exchange thoughts with seems harder and harder. A few years ago I could go on what chat program ever or what forums ever and find tons of people who actually had to tell something, but now it’s mainly brainlessness.

 

© 2010, Sanshiru. http://san.icopyright.com

Written by Samantha A. P. Ocean

January 1, 2010 at 2:26 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi!

    I’m a twitter freak and I really love to tweet! Haha.

    I agree with what you say about the number of followers of Twitter. It sometimes also occur to me that the number of followers have somewhat became a “who is more popular’ game.

    And it seems like for some people, if you followed them, they’ll probably follow you back in the name of courtesy. So that will not be a good gauge of popularity.

    Nice reading this post on twitter btw! :)

    flo

    January 2, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    • Thanks for dropping a comment! :) It’s nice to see I am not the only one who noticed that. It just seems weird to me that people follow someone (or on other program add people to their friend list) even though they have no interest in them and no topic to talk about.
      I still prefer the original use: meeting new people and maybe making a friend here and there, or two.

      San

      January 2, 2010 at 8:29 pm


Leave a Reply

